W/R: 31 Aspirants pick forms to contest NDC primaries

Image result for national democratic congress

All is set for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary primaries in 11 out of 17 constituencies in the Western Region.

Thirty-one aspirants have so far picked nomination forms to contest the primaries in readiness for the 2020 general election in the region.

The region, after the creation of the Western North, now has 17 constituencies and the political parties are preparing feverishly in readiness for the 2020 general election.

Six on hold

After opening of nominations for the NDC primaries, both aspirants and their supporters trooped to various constituency offices to pick forms.

However, constituencies such as Essikado Ketan, Takoradi, Kwesimintsim, Evalue Ajomoro-Gwira, Tarkwa Nsuaem and Amenfi East, according to the party, were on hold for strategic reasons.

At the party’s offices across the region, various known faces and members of the party, in a cheerful mood, interacted with one another as they paid and collected their nomination forms.


In Sekondi, two female aspirants have taken the centre stage to battle it out with Mr Charles Hagan.

 Ms Betty Bosumtwe-Sam, who was a former deputy Western Regional Minister, comes in as one of the known personalities in the twin-city of Sekondi/Takoradi. 

The former Metropolitan Chief Executive, Madam Charlotte Odum is also contesting.

Effia & Ellembelle

For Effia Constituency, Mr Peter Avorkadzi,  Mr Mohammad Ali and Mr Michael Otoo are contesting the seat.

In Ellembelle, though the incumbent MP, Mr Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah, was not present to pick forms for the primaries, some constituents mobilised to pick the form on his behalf.

Other contestants are Alea Mieza, Joseph Akpor, Kofi Anaman, Sylvester Enumi Cudjoe and Obed Buah. 

Some constituents explained that because the incumbent MP did not say or express his intention to contest the seat it had resulted in so many people showing interest in contesting the seat.

Shama & Mpohor

In the Shama Constituency, the former Member of Parliament, Gabriel Kojo Essilfie and the former Shama District Chief Executive, Mr Enoch Kojo Appiah, who have picked forms are the two aspirants to watch in the upcoming primaries.

The other two, Mr Eric Cobbinah, and James Mensah Eshun, however cannot be discounted.

Two candidates in the Mpohor Constituency, Eric Kweku Kyeremah and Mr Anthony Awortwe are the only candidates in the straight fight for the Mpohor slot.

For the Jomoro seat, a known philanthropist, Dorcas Afo Toffey; Mr Ndah Blay and Ackatiah Kwadu  are ready to slug it out.

Ahanta West & Amenfi

The Ahanta West saw three people picking forms at the end of the day, namely the dep. Regional Communication Officer of the party, Mr Ebenezer Essien, and the former MP for the area, Dr George Kwame Aboagye, as well as Mr Ebenezer Aidoo are to contest the ticket.  

In the Amenfi Central, incumbent Peter Kwakye Ackah is being contested by Mr Elijah Yaw Jones and Mr George Kofi Arthur.


The Regional Secretary, Mr Joe Nelson, commended members of the party and those interested in the slot for the orderliness of the process.


Source: Graphic online

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s